WordCamp Philippines 2008: Winners and Bloopers

When I was first asked by Juned if I can consider giving a talk for Wordcamp, I replied with “What the hell is that?” I misheard “world” for “word” and thought it was some big gathering (camping- with bonfire and shit like that) of people in an open field to protest global warming or poverty.

I later became unstupid when he explained that it’s a huge wordpress event for its users, with informative talks and fun games and shiny prizes. And who doesn’t like shiny prizes? So I said, sure, without even knowing what my topic would be. I mean, what if they had asked me to talk about CSS or plug-ins or other related stuff, what do you think would happen to me?

Fast forward to yesterday, September 6.

I went to CSB where the event was held, ready with my presentation about Video Blogging. I haven’t really done that much Funny+Sexy vlogs but the topic is something close to my heart because uhhh… I do videos for a living.


with AJ, who’s holding an Ernie toy lol and the awesome Blogie, one of the organizers

So I saw a lot of friends there, some new faces but overall, ’twas a nice crowd. I was impressed by the set-up and the volunteers were very helpful (here’s a shout-out to Vince who helped me in my preparation). After the whole introduction, we were asked to go to the rooms of our chosen speakers. Of course, we went to Jayvee‘s at room 409. All 12 or so of us have been waiting there for about 15 minutes already when we were informed that we were at the wrong room. BLOOPER NUMBER 1. LOLZ.

READ THE REST HERE.

66 Comments

Filed under wordcamp

66 responses to “WordCamp Philippines 2008: Winners and Bloopers

  1. It was good meeting you, however briefly, and thank you for using WordPress.com. πŸ™‚ Best of luck with everything. (And I’m curious what the bloopers were.)

  2. funnysexy

    @ Matt
    Oh hi! Thanks for reading this post! And yes, it was a delight meeting you! See you around.

  3. Sounds like a lot of fun! πŸ™‚

    You look so charming πŸ˜€ It’s been awhile since I’ve seen any of your pictures!

    ~Lydia

  4. I’m super glad you agreed to do your talk, Kring! Feel bad though, that I wasn’t able to at least drop in. Next time you’ll say yes to me again, ok? πŸ˜‰

  5. “Yanno, I like that guy (but not in a Ria Jose kinda way)”

    — what does this mean? πŸ˜€ hahaha!

  6. funnysexy

    @ Megumi
    Awww.. Really? Thank you! And yes, dear, it was a lot of fun!

    @ Blogie
    OF COURSE. Anytime! Malakas kayo sakin ni Ria! And don’t worry about it, you guys did an awesome job, really! *hugs*

    @ Jayvee
    Uhm, well… You know that thing that happened on stage yesterday. Lolz. Peace, ria!

  7. I really enjoyed the talk, Kring! Buti na lang pumunta ako sa session. As I said on Plurk last time, “fun yet informative”! Haha. πŸ˜€ And I can’t forget that major blooper during the talk! πŸ˜›

    And at the time you approached me… Medyo nagulat pa ako. Akala ko sinupladuhan kita kaya medyo maikli yung usapan natin. Guess I’m overthinking again? Haha. Nice meeting you again, though. I’m glad that we talked, even for a minute. πŸ™‚

  8. ruther26

    ~ i am volunteer stundent from CSB where the WORDCAMP’08 happen..
    i learned many things about it.. haha
    i enjoy the talk and the Q & A.. πŸ˜€

    (bLogie) – all i know to him is he’s the organizer and very kind… hehe

    (matt) – “coooollll”.. haha can’t say anything.. hahaha “coooolll”

    the girl in top? (phoebe?) – accordng to some volunteers and press they say “SHE’s HOT”… haha πŸ˜€

  9. I got there 20 minutes before the event finished. I asked P0yt kung nandun ka pa, she said you left early. =( Sayang (rather, sayang on my part I missed your segment!)

    And from what I’ve been reading on blogs/plurks, your talk was really interesting. Marian Rivera lol

  10. See πŸ™‚ Diba and galing-galing πŸ™‚

  11. Sayang di ako nakapag-attend ng class ng older brother ni Jezhlau LOL :p

    Honestly, ang galing ng lecture mo weee madami ako natutunan lalo na dun sa bandang last part. Maiaapply ko yun sa short film ko na hanggang ngayon di ko pa natatapos LOL πŸ˜€

    Congratulations! πŸ™‚

  12. your sexiness leveled up another notch because of your lecture. nice nice! fantassmo!

  13. funnysexy

    @ The [Deranged] Writer
    Thank you! Was that someone special you were with yesterday? Also, to be honest with you, yeah, I thought sinungitan mo ko. You did anyway. So I was like “what’s wrong with him? He doesn’t want to talk to me?” and I didn’t talk to you anymore that whole day…

    @ Ruther
    Hi! Thanks for dropping by my blog and I’m glad you ha fun at wordcamp. Also, if you were referring to that girl in stripes *points to the picture above*, that’s not Phoebe.

    @ Jeric
    HALLO, TOO!!!

    @ George
    Aww.. really? Yeah, I left early eh. Wasn’t planning on going to the afterparty so I left early. But yeah, I’m just really glad people enjoyed my talk. πŸ˜‰ See you soon… eventually… somehow. lolz.

    @ Juned
    LOLZ HONGA.

    @ Micamyx
    Sana pumunta ka para nag-dugo rin ang ilong mo. LOLZ. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed AND learned something.

    @ Billycoy
    YOU = WIN. *hugs*

  14. Hello! I was searching for WordCamp posts on Google, then I stumbled on your post. Heehee.

    I attended WordCamp too! However, I didn’t get to meet you. So sad. 😦

    Anyway, naiintriga ako sa bloopers mo dito. Wahahaha. And benta sa ‘kin yung post mo (especially on the last part).

  15. Pingback: Blogger’s Event: WordCamp Philippines 2008 | Adaphobic

  16. Hala, I think you should get ready…later on nandito na ang mga Marian Rivera fans to defend their “idol”. Hehehe.

    I pretty much enjoyed your talk. Congrats!

  17. Pingback: I Got Wordcamped! | Prudence and Madness

  18. CSB’s security personnel also thought it was a gathering of people in an open field to protest global warming or poverty, aka Worldcamp. Lol. I have proof.

    Thanks for helping us out at Wordcamp! Success we haz it!

  19. Hey Kring. πŸ™‚ I was one of those in your audience yesterday! πŸ™‚ I loved your talk. It made me want to pursue film. Lolzzz. Okay, that’s quite a step from your topic Vlogging, I know. But hey all the discussion about lights and shit made my heart race in this nerdy way. LOL.

    Anyway. Again.. great talk! πŸ™‚

  20. i love you funnysexy!!! yay! πŸ˜› ur video rocks πŸ˜€ hehehe

  21. YOU! ARE! A! GODDESS!

    Thank you for the wonderful talk! Loved it, learned a lot of camwhoring este vlogging tips! πŸ˜€

    *MWAH!*

  22. Pingback: GreenBucks » WordCamp Philippines 2008

  23. Pingback: WordCamp Philippines 2008 : A Success!

  24. Someone special? You mean, the girl I’m with? Medyo close kami, but as blog buddies. πŸ˜› 2nd time namin nag-meet personally, the first one was last year. Biglaan pa yung meetup sa Mall of Asia, just after the Fall Out Boy meet-and-greet. πŸ™‚

    I knew it, unapproachable nga ang dating ko nun. Sorry, I didn’t mean to. My fault, still. 😦 *sigh*

  25. Pingback: Standard Web Standards » My WordCamp Philippines 2008 Experience » Building the web, the standards way! CSS, XHTML, Accessibility, Usability, AJAX, Web 2.0, Adobe

  26. Awesome talk! Had so much funnnnn!

  27. Xee

    I enjoyed your session a lot! And… sorry! Huli tuloy ang blooper! Hahaha

  28. Pingback: Bakla Goes to WordCamp Philippines 2008 - Bakla Ako, May Reklamo?

  29. Pingback: WordCamp Philippines 2008 | TechWatch@AWBHoldings.com

  30. Pingback: Experiencing WordCamp Philippines 2008 « Here’s to Life!

  31. Pingback: Ouch! WordCamp Philippines | Brodcst Msktir - a Pinoy video blog

  32. Nice picture.. hello there.. sayang I was not there

  33. Pingback: WordCamp Philippines | ah!

  34. Thanks kring for that shout-out. It was so nice meeting you and knowing that you’ve appreciated the work from us volunteers. Oh btw my friends who were also in the event went gaga when they saw you. haha. Hotness they whispered. Oh well kids would be kids. Nah i don’t think so;)haha. tc!

  35. Pingback: WordCamp Philippines 2008: On Meeting Mr. WordPress, Web Standards, and Other Stuff • MISTERYOSA.COM

  36. i want to send my shoutouts to all who have attended the much awaited wordcamp philippines “KUDOS TO ALL” uhuhuhu…. wasn’t able to attend, couldn’t afford the air travel and the hotel acomm… cheers!!..

  37. me again. i can’t help but to chortle.haha. nevermind. phoebe it is?nyahah.

    Ruther, sablay mehn. haha. well next time maybe.haha.

  38. funnysexy

    @ Alrenz
    Why, thanks for dropping by my blog. It’s orayt, there’s always a next time… And lolz. Anu’ng part?

    @ Prudence
    Bring it on, Marian Rivera fans!!! BRING EEETTT!!! Thanks!

    @ Drew
    Thanks! Twas my pleasure… And can I see the proof, please? XD

    @ Carrs
    Guess what, I wanna pursue film, too. TV is just a stepping stone. πŸ˜€ I hope you do well and thanks for listening to my talk! See you around!

    @ Jehzlau
    Awww… *apir* Which video? The one you accidentally showed on the monitor at the theater?

    @ RiaJose
    Sos, kung goddess ako, ano ka na??? Dyosang rockstar??? ILU *HUGS*

  39. Oh btw, I was the one with The [Deranged] Writer. HAHA.

  40. Pingback: Digdesignz » Filipino Web and Graphic Designer by xsabrina.chic » Archive » Philippine WordCampers 2008

  41. funnysexy

    @ The Deranged Writer
    Nah, it’s fine… Next time, I just hope you’d at least acknowledge my presence… πŸ˜›

    @ Baklang AJ
    My talk wouldve been different if you werent in the audience. XD *Hugs* Thanks, mare!

    @ Xee
    Ayos lang, thanks for attending it, too and for you know, streaming it!

    @ Dexter
    Thank you!

    @ Vince
    Aaaww… You’re so cute! Thanks a lot talaga. And I dont think they’re kids, honestly.. Unless most of them are 12 year olds! :p

  42. Pingback: my colorful world » Blog Archive » wordcamp 2008 philippines: it’s a success!

  43. Pingback: WordCamp PH 2008 and Afterparty » Carlo Reid

  44. Dapat may bakla for more baklaan no? lol!

  45. Pingback: WordCamp Philippines 2008, with Matt Mullenweg | Miss Wicked

  46. Pingback: WordCamp Philippines 2008 Highlights: Development Track, State of the Word, Web Standards, Random Fire · Stellify

  47. Pingback: On WordCamp 2008 and Meeting Mr. Wordpress » Diventare

  48. Pingback: My WordCamp Philippines 2008 Experience at ICEZORG’s Igloo

  49. Pingback: teacherjulie.com » WordCamp Philippines 2008 Updates

  50. Pingback: Wordcamp Philippines | Batang Yagit

  51. thanks for making WordCamp a success! πŸ™‚ I think it was a great experience for all the student volunteers! πŸ™‚ everyone’s raving about your talk! πŸ™‚ hahaha

  52. Pingback: WordCamp Philippines - a WordCandy experience | Flair Candy

  53. Pingback: An Event Which I Failed to Attend : Tech At Hand Dot Net | Philippines, Technology, SEO and Blogging

  54. I IS LOVES YOU! TOTEZ! TOTEZ! TOOOOTEZ!

  55. @ Jehzlau
    Awww… *apir* Which video? The one you accidentally showed on the monitor at the theater?

    – yeeaahhhhhhhhpppppppp!!! πŸ˜€ may copy me eh.. πŸ˜€ galing mo talaga ^___~

  56. “CSB’s security personnel also thought it was a gathering of people in an open field to protest global warming or poverty, aka Worldcamp. Lol. I have proof.

    Thanks for helping us out at Wordcamp! Success we haz it!”

    hahaha! sure kuya? nyokkkkkkk!

  57. Jeck

    should’ve attended that video blogging thing. shocks, i and my co-bloggers are having regrets up until now. rens will also be furious about this. huhuhu

  58. Nice story about WordCamp Philippines, I’m Kevin from Pinoy Teens

    Care to link exchange? I added you already^^,)
    Hope you could visit back.

  59. Pingback: WordCamp is on TODAY at De La Salle - College of Saint Benilde « Association of Information Management WordPress Blog

  60. Pingback: The WordCamp made me sick | Mom Writes

  61. Pingback: On the 8 Spot » WordCamp Philippines Posts lists

  62. OMGosh! You’re glowing!

    I know why…it comes from within! LOL

    I miss you!

  63. Congratulations on your talk Kring. I was able to catch a glimpse via UStream and look forward to a video of your talk soon. Cheers!

  64. OMG. I. WAS. GOING. TO. HIT. ON. YOU.

    ..then I figured I didn’t really want to read about it online lol.

    πŸ™‚

  65. Pingback: On WordCamp 2008 and Meeting Mr. Wordpress | Diventare

Leave a Reply

