Why Romantic-Comedy Movies Win At Life

“Talking to you was like watching a romantic-comedy movie.”

Believe it or not, somebody actually told me that. I almost wanted to jump the guy who said it and like make-out with him or something until I was reminded that the leading ladies in such movies are not whores. So I composed my self.

Just in case you don’t know yet, I’m a sucker for romantic-comedy flicks. I mean, deep, thought-provoking films with epic cinematography are the shizniz and all but sappy love stories remind me that behind this whole “I’m-a-bitch-get-off-my-face-or-i-keel-you” image, I’m just a girl after all.

Hence, I give you a list of my favorite quotes from some of my fave movies because I’m a pathetic loser like that. Also, please get ready with a barf bag.

“If you love someone you say it, you say it right then, out loud. Otherwise the moment just… passes you by.” – My Best Friend’s Wedding

This is one of my all-time favorites! I have seen this movie about 10 times already and cried every single time. When I was younger, I thought this quote meant that you shouldn’t be afraid to tell that person that you love him/her because 1) you never know if he/she feels the same way for you or 2) it might be too late already. Recently, however, I realized this meant that when you feel that thing in your heart, don’t keep it in. Eventually it might wear off and it won’t mean the same anymore even if you still say it.

Throwing up yet? No? Read on…

READ THE REST HERE.

16 Comments

Filed under romantic-comedymovies

16 responses to “Why Romantic-Comedy Movies Win At Life

  1. nan

    The 10 rules RULE! And I can’t believe you pulled that Julia Roberts line off, LOL

  2. Inspiring! I love it… Warm, fuzz feeling.

  3. Aww I’m such a sucker too!

  4. Iyak ako ng iyak nung una kong napanood yung sassy girl 😦

  5. Ade

    Too. Much. Mush. Must. Run. Away. 😛

  6. shokizuki

    I love My Sassy Girl though di ako naiyak XD

    Sekaichu…I’ve only watched it once (ung ending), sobra.. iyak ako don ng iyak kahit ending lang napanood ko :0 (and in tagalog kasi pinalabas sa Qtv XD)

    Yay~! Happy beerday to me :Dv

  7. Rich Muhlach

    This blog is really cute 🙂

    I love romantic comedies too (no, i ain’t gay) and I 100% agree that the Holiday had the best into EVAARRR!

    nakaka-in-love ka talaga with your ‘funniness’ and ‘sexiness’

  8. funnysexy

    @ nan
    I can’t believe it either. Wait. No. Of course I pulled that off. I’m a drama queen like that, you know… 😛

    @ Riajose
    WELCOME BACK TO MANELAH!! *glomps*

    @ Ive seen Sassy Girl so many times already and I still krai!

    @ Ade
    Now look who’s talking… >__> IN LAB SI KUYAAAA!!

    @ Shokizuki
    Sekachu was more Korean with its melodrama and all so it wasn’t my most favorite. Although I have to say I liked the TV version better because WTF SRSLY. takayama ftw.

    @ Rich
    Hey! Welcome to my blog… lulz. Thank you! And you don’t have to be gay to love romantic-comedies, yanno. Just a very sensitive boy-next-door, I suppose. Which is nice. And cute. 😛 Hope to see you around. 😉

  9. Rich Muhlach

    Hey, thanks for the welcome (haha that sounded fresh!). Don’t mean to clog your blog (haha that rhymes) but here’s a quote from Massimo (that Italian dude in JLo’s The Wedding Planner) which I found cute too.

    “I know I never done the right thing, say the right thing. I know I act like a fool. I know say we’d be buddy-buddy friends, but that would not be true to my heart so I’ll ask this one question, and if you answer “no” I’ll leave you alone once and for all. Be my wife, Mary Fiore. If you answer yes I’ll take care of you, be true to you, and like this house I built for your dolls, I’ll make sure you have a strong roof over your head. If you answer yes than no one will love you as much as I love you. If you answer yes than you will make me the happiest man on earth.”

    Note: the impact and ‘kilig’ factor is better if you watch the scene rather than reading it from a transcript.

    Keep the blogs comin’ 🙂

  10. I’m going to have to call you on My Sassy Girl. I mean, aside from the sass, the second half of the movie was pretty much a big WTF in Hanggul to me.

    What was up with that old dude by the tree with his hippie love advice?

  11. shokizuki

    Huh? Me movie non? I’ve only watched the series’ ending XDDD

    Happy birthday to Shige~! and belated to me and Massu XD

  12. funnysexyguy

    Hello there. I dont know how i reached your blog but im glad I did 🙂 Im supposed to be doing something important but i found myself surfing aimlessly.. that happens sometimes when im deep in thought :p

    Reading this post is providential because i just realized that i was preoccupied with thoughts of my wife. For weeks now, i’ve been missing her. No, we’re not apart from each other. For the past seven happy years and 4 kids, we’re always together like peanut butter & jelly. In fact, this beautiful woman is sleeping beside me right now.

    It’s just that we’ve been too busy with our concerns the past few weeks that i feel like im not giving her the attention she deserves. I need to say or do something sweet.. And there it is. The line from ‘Never been Kissed’ – Just perfect. Thank you!

    Oh Btw, i think i can relate to you. I’ve been to where you are right now and you need not worry and hurry 🙂

    Now if you’ll excuse me, i have to memorize that line.. wake her up and what will follow as they say, will be…

    Rated R. ;P

  13. funnysexy

    @ Rich Mulach
    Ugh. I haven’t watched that movie yet maybe coz J.Lo was never my favorite actress. LOL. And I did read your comment on my other post… Hahaha what do you DO exactly?

    @ OneTamad
    But but but!! Koreans tend to be hippie and wtf-ish sometimes, you know… idk, I still think it pwnd asses. XD

    @ Shokizuki
    Yups! There was a book then a movie then a series… The book I have to buy pa nga kasi I heard it’s really beautiful. 😀 OMG YEAH SHIGE 7-11!! Haha!

    @ funnysexyguy
    Awwww. OMG THAT’S SOOOOO SWEET!! I’m glad you chanced upon my blog, too. See you around and goodluck with the wife!

  14. The first part was teh funny, for sure, but throughout the second half, I felt that I was having a flashback from when I did drugs as a pastime. Oh, wait, I was doing drugs at the time…

  15. I just realized that I’d be nuts enough to do the Sassy Girl thing…

  16. Clap clap. I love Romantic Comedies too. At miss na kita. :-*

Leave a Reply

